460 Ford Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first build from the ground up. My 1966 galaxie was an absolute roller when I bought it, no interior, no engine, but no rust! It's time to choose a proper engine for this full size vehicle! Since my 1962 Falcon I kept 100% original, and was given a blank canvas for this 66 galaxie I am going to resto-mod under the hood. Any suggestions? I am working with a somewhat limited budget and just to be clear I have no interest in excessive horsepower, only what is necessary to pull such a large heavy vehicle with hopefully not too much invested in fabricating motor mounts. THANKS IN ADVANCE!

·
Registered
156 Posts
Budget build means different things to different people. If it was mine I would put a mildly buildt 390 in it.
You can find them in salvage yard's fairly cheap and there are a lot of upgrades for them.
You don't have to cut and weld as the 66 wes made for the 390 type engine.
Another option would to buy a totaled Mustang Gt with 5.0 and 6r80.
You would get over 400 HP and if you buy a totaled car you get all the wireing and other part's you need.
They go for around 5000 to12,000 around here at Co Part's auctions depending on the mileage at the time of the wreck.
Greg

·
Registered
829 Posts
Personally the only thing I don’t like about FE’s is the fact that there’s no easy/inexpensive OD trans options. Cheapest would probably be a 351 and an AOD/T5 but not very exciting. You could go with an LS but then you’d have to tell you’re parents that you’re gay!😂 A 4 valve 4.6 could be cool but they don’t make a lot of torque which would be helpful. I like the Coyote idea if you can find a wrecked car like Greg was talking about.

·
Registered
156 Posts
On my 63 Galaxie I am building right now with a 428 and 6R80 trans.
You are right that the trans install isn't inexpensive at-
Trans adaptor kit -$950
Trans controller-$1275
Trans mount-$75