460 Ford Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
got a question , i have a set of aluminum 429 cj heads and would like to run a set of comp cams 947 -triple valve springs . the valves are stock lenght . question is can valve spring pockets in heads be cut deep a nuff to run the triple spring or do i need longer valves . if i need to get longer valves i would just go ahead and run a solid cam . any help would be great or if i can post any more info i can try . some of you engine builders may know this stuff . thanks !!

·
Registered
895 Posts
947 Comp

I am using Iron heads but to get the correct installed height I had to use the Kasse +.100 valves. It worked very well. I am not an expert so I would consult one of the cylinder head guys.

FWIW Mark

·
Registered
3,730 Posts
got a question , i have a set of aluminum 429 cj heads and would like to run a set of comp cams 947 -triple valve springs . the valves are stock lenght . question is can valve spring pockets in heads be cut deep a nuff to run the triple spring or do i need longer valves . if i need to get longer valves i would just go ahead and run a solid cam . any help would be great or if i can post any more info i can try . some of you engine builders may know this stuff . thanks !!
the "if" and "run a solid cam" , you have a hyd cam now ? 947's best be a solid roller with top shelf SS valves and the rest of the components for the valve train

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
the "if" and "run a solid cam" , you have a hyd cam now ? 947's best be a solid roller with top shelf SS valves and the rest of the components for the valve train