460 Ford Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Banned
4,325 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am up here in Minnesota and I stopped this am and checked out some Bio diesel and after filling my truck up I started it and drove it, I can tell the performance is down and now I have this desire to eat greasy french fries cuz thats what it smells like now when I drive.. :lol: I think they are getting the used frying oil from some greasy spoon and pouring it in with the diesel fuel after cleaning it, but hey it runs just stopped and bought a fuel filter just in case.. 8) any one else tried this Bio Diesel fuel???

Randy

·
Registered
338 Posts
ive been useing it for 3 or 4 years now id guess . havent had any effect on performance that i can tell how much of a blend are you useing id guess ive used close to 20000 gallons of the blended stuff good luck brad

·
Registered
1,979 Posts
What' s the blend? It should be Bxx. The xx is the percentage blend. Biodiesel will clean out the fuel system. So don't be surprised if that filter becomes plugged.....

I can't get any here, but will run it as soon as it's available. It's far better than regular dino diesel

·
Registered
928 Posts
I have been running B25 in my PSD for a few months now, and B20 in the semi for the same amount of time. I make my own using used fryer oil for the pickup and buy the stuff for the semi commercially. There is NO loss of power and an increase in mileage, on the PSD it seems to be averaging about 1.5mpg better and the semi went from averaging 5.4-5.7 to averaging 5.8-6.1mpg. and when the new ULSD comes out it will be down on lubrication for things like your injectors and even B2 will replace the lost lubrication and will save your engine and related parts considerable wear.

·
Registered
928 Posts
Right now I am putting B20 (20% biodiesel) in the big rig, biodiesel has a much higher lubricity factor than even high sulfar diesel, so no additives are needed.