460 Ford Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. This is my first time building a BBF so i was hoping i could get some suggestions from you guys. I'm building a ~700hp motor that will be probably 99% street duty, and no slicks.

What kind of mods do you suggest to my C6 to handle this kind of power?

·
Registered
1,067 Posts
C6 mods

For the street I'd use a 5 clutch hi/rev drum, 5 clutch forward, if its not already included, 6 clutch low and a HD sprag, R servo and a lever compatable with the R servo [I forget the lever ID] a shift kit to moderatly raise the line pressure. Some people would recommend a roller bearing kit but I don't feel its nessessary for 99% street use, drag racing yes. Use a converter that matches your specs such as car weight, cam, ect.

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the info.

What company did you buy those components from?

·
Registered
476 Posts
You can do the 5 clutch thing for a few bucks at a machine shop. Raise the snap ring groove in the one clutch pack and machine the end plate down in the other one. (It's been so long since I've had the reliable old thing apart, I can't remember which one I did which to...) :lol:
My low reverse only had 4 clutches, and I just left it the way it was, and I've never had any trouble with it, but maybe I've been lucky.

·
Registered
1,067 Posts
John I. said:
You can do the 5 clutch thing for a few bucks at a machine shop. Raise the snap ring groove in the one clutch pack and machine the end plate down in the other one. (It's been so long since I've had the reliable old thing apart, I can't remember which one I did which to...) :lol:
My low reverse only had 4 clutches, and I just left it the way it was, and I've never had any trouble with it, but maybe I've been lucky.