460 Ford Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Super Moderator
4,936 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK guys.. I need some feed back. I just got my TrickFlow "Mafia" intake today from Lem Evans (It is back on a delivery truck down to NitroPlate in Nashville to get coated). Now I am going to be needing a Dominator style carb. All my stuff I have had so far has been 4150 style. What brands do you guys like. I have been using Quick Fuel stuff for the last 7 or 8 years and have always been real happy with it. I just wondered what your thoughts were on this subject. I have a bunch of parts up for sale now (on eBay) and as soon as they are gone I'm going to buy something so I'm trying to do the research now. Let me know what you think.

And Just in case you don't already know..

I'll be drag racing a 1993 Mustang. 13.3:1 compression M-6049-A429 headed 521 cid motor with a C6 with transbrake.

Thanks in advance for your been there done that experience!

·
Registered
1,404 Posts
Chris there was a carb shootout where AED carbs in the small block class won "out of the box" contest and come 2nd overall with "tune" contest.

Now in the big block class AED won both the "out of the box" and "tuned "contest...........thats pretty good going i think, there were about 12 other brands there i think including qft, blp, cfm, braswell, holley etc

All in all there was only 8hp difference between the top 8 carb builders in which AED come out on top in the bb class.

Personally i have a pro systems 4150 carb and im happy with it, my buddy recenctly ordered a pro system dominator 1050 and went to the track where orginal holley 1050 dominator it ran 10.72 best at 124.22mph, and same day swaped it with the prosystem one and ran 10.61 at 125.57mph, then with a jet change it went 10.52 at 126.83mph.

Hope this helps, but i think you will be ok with any of the top brands.

·
Registered
3,742 Posts