460 Ford Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. I need help and I am no expert mechanic... I neglected our 1984 Motorhome with an E-350 7.5 V8 ford 460 engine. It always ran fine, then I parked it while I finished our home(5 years), starting it a couple of times a year, until one day it wouldn't start again. I have read a lot about what needs to be done in this case. Engine froze so after several applications of Lucas Marvel oil(I think is the name) I slowly turned it by hand until it was free. Replaced all spark plugs and starter(it was dead). Now here is my problem: with the new starter, engine will crank slower than normal WITHOUT the plugs installed. With the plugs installed it won't. You can see the belts attempting to move but it seems like the starter doesn't have enough power or something else is happening. I cleaned ground contacts at the chassis and the battery is not an issue(I am using my truck to jump it, even applying power directly to the starter bypassing everything else. Are starters rated for specific engines depending on size of engine? I purchased mine at advance auto, it looks identical to original except it is not made by Motorcraft.
Your comments will be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
355 Posts
Sounds like your engine might be partially froze up, the starter might not be able to spin the motor. I might try shooting some anti-seize oil into each spark plug hole and letting it set for a day or so and trying again. I'm sure your local auto parts store will be able to suggest a product, another thing is I don't think jumping from your truck might not give you enough juice to spin the motor.
Good luck,
J.

·
Registered
399 Posts
HI when you say it froze which do you mean? No oil froze up or winter frieze?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #6