• 1000'

Votes: 3 11.5%

• Total voters
1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
620 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Drag Racers: 1/4 Vs. 1/8 Vs. 1000' Racing: Which do you prefer?

This may have already been done...If it has, I couldn't find it. I'm just curious to hear what the Blue Oval Boys have to say about it. I'm a Newbie to the Forum but, not to racing Big Block Fords'...I guess I haven't introduced myself either. 93 Notch, 557 w/glide, 4.10 gear, 2X3 full chassis, ladder bar, strut front, high 8, low 9 second ride. Anyway, my local track is 1/4 mile facility, newly resurfaced, plenty of shut down yet, they insist on running 1/8 mile for the faster car classes. I understand their reasoning but, I don't like it. I was just wondering what you folks have to say about it. By the way, this is by far the coolest Ford Site. I can tell that there a lot of knowlegeable and die-hard ford men here. It almost brings a tear.....Updated with the 1000' idea. Please vote on the poll.

Thanks,
Jeff

·
Registered
6,392 Posts
I run both and 1/4 is just more fun. Our main 1/4 track will run 1/8 for the faster cars when the track conditions are not ideal, and I'm fine with that. The shutdown is shorter on the 1/8 mile track we frequent, makes it harder on the brakes for sure.

·
Registered
2,960 Posts
I like the 1/4 ,but the 1/8 mile racing is way easier on parts in a faster car :lol:

·
Registered
1,960 Posts
Around here there are 4 tracks within decent driving distance, three are 1/8 mile & one is 1/4 mile (the Texas Motor Plex in Ennis). So the 1/8 mile tracks get a lot of use.

·
Premium Member
1,334 Posts
I say 1/4 for me all the tracks i been to are 1/4 so its what im use too i dont know any that are 1/8 DE,MD,NJ ALL 1/4 that i know of they only run the 1/8 under bad weather conditions.

·
Registered
720 Posts