460 Ford Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
232 Posts
Out of curiosity are they still for regular cam bearings?

If my memory is correct, do you still need to hone the mains and lifters?

Thanks in advance!!

·
8,522 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Out of curiosity are they still for regular cam bearings?

If my memory is correct, do you still need to hone the mains and lifters?

Thanks in advance!!
They take the std. or extra wide cam bearings...not roller. The A460 block's lifter bores never have required honing. One may or may not have to hone the main bearing housing bores....depends on the required oil clearance, shaft dia. , etc.

·
Registered
302 Posts
Lem, not to sound stupid....is that roughly what a 4.440 bore would be honed to? Will any of the A460 blocks work with a 4.440 bore? And the TSF 18 bolt heads? I know, I'm still learning this stuff. Thanks!

·
8,522 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Lem, not to sound stupid....is that roughly what a 4.440 bore would be honed to? Will any of the A460 blocks work with a 4.440 bore? And the TSF 18 bolt heads? I know, I'm still learning this stuff. Thanks!
If you want to run a 4.440" bore you need the A460 block...not the A460BB which is ~ 4.490" to be honed to 4.500" bore.

The TFS 18 bolt heads will bolt right on either the A460 or A460BB block.

·
Registered
569 Posts
roller cam bearings

Lem,
I hate to hijack the site but I am looking at blocks..... but that isn't my question today. When you talk about cam bearings. You mention regular, wide and roller....

I have a D0VE-A block. I just installed a roller cam. When YOU talk about roller cam bearings are you talking about the newer blocks with factory roller cams? Or are you talking about installing an after market (Crane) roller cam in a D0VE-A block needing "special" cam bearings....

I will need to know this so I know if my new cam will work with whatever I build over the winter.