460 Ford Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I spend quite a bit of time on Ford Truck forums, but I'm new to this one so I'll start by introducing myself.

My name is Chad. I live in Atlanta. I have no real background in auto mechanics but I've been trying to grow my automotive knowledge by working hands-on. For the last 4 years I've been restoring and modifying a 1984 Bronco XLT with a 351W and 4sp manual. It has been a fantastic learning experience for me and I have met some of the greatest people along the way.

Next I want to learn about engines. I intend to do that by restoring and installing a BBF in the Bronco. The goal is a respectful restoration paying homage to the original 460 with minor improvements in performance. I do not want a fire-breather; 400ish hp is plenty. Weight is also not a huge factor.

I've done some research on the 460 blocks and heads, the 429 versions, and some of the changes over the years and I know just enough now to be dangerous. I feel like the most worthwhile starting place would be an original long block from a 460 68-70 (C8, C9 or D0) car (not truck). So my first question to all of you is do you agree that's a good place to start for a restoration?