460 Ford Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I know it looks like I'm a noob, but I've actually been on this site for many years, I had to start fresh with a new account.

So I wanted to see what you guys thought I might be getting out of this 460 that I have in my bronco. I put this motor in my bronco 10+ years ago, tinkered with it a little here and there, but life got in the way and I had to put it on the back burner.

I got this motor from a guy up in Michigan along with a ton of other crap. It was in pieces and was missing a bunch of parts. The PO had the heads, crank and block cleaned up, but left everything sitting for a while. I don't know if he did any head porting or not.

Back in 04/05 when I was dealing with this motor, I didn't do a whole lot of research and I really didn't know exactly what I had. If I was paying attention, I would have dealt with the exhaust port on these D3VE heads, but I didn't. I left them in stock form.

I've just recently got this thing dialed in. I had a fuel problem (pick up in the gas tank) and that was throwing everything off. I got that taken care of and my carb (E-brock 750) rebuilt. This thing runs great now. I can't believe the grunt and power it has (I'm used to the old 351M). I know this thing isn't pushing 500 hp, but maybe close to 400. Let me know what you think. Here are the specs:

Block = D1VE (1971 Lincoln)
Cylinder bore = .030
Heads = D3VE A2A (machined for rocker studs, decked due to slight warpage)
Pistons = flat top
Intake manifold = Edelbrock performer
Carb = Edelbrock 750
Timing chain = straight up
Timing = 14* initial/38* total
Cam = Crane 353901X (I suck at understanding Cam specs) intake 487/Exh 516 - duration = 260 on intake/272 on exhaust
Rocker arm ratio = 1.71 (roller rockers)
Exhaust = Chassis exit headers to 2.25" straight pipe through flowmasters