460 Ford Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys!
I’m brand new to BBF (actually to American motors in general, I come from the land of BMW) so apologies if this is a relatively basic probl

I picked up an old jet boat that I’ve been trying to get running. It has a Hardin marine 460 (D3VE-A2A heads with SCJ/marine manifold).

I can’t for the life of me get this thing to start. The guy I bought it from said it wasn’t running well and he had made some attempts at fixing it, so I have no idea what might have been done.

The original 4160 carb was well past it’s prime, and I just installed a new AED HM-series 850cfm 4150.

When I try it start it, it just cranks indefinitely, with an occasional light sputter. There is fuel in the bowls, and I get a nice squirt of gas from the accelerator pump. I tried using some starting fluid, which just causes a big backfire out of the top.

I pulled a few plugs and held them against the block, and I can clearly see a spark. I confirmed that the plug wires are in the correct order, based on a diagram I found. I thought the disty might be 180 out so I turned the motor to the TDC mark on the balancer and the pointer was nowhere near #1 so I tried to swap it, but same issue. The pointer definitely looks to be pointed at #1 at TDC now, but if anything the backfiring became more consistent.

Disty is super corroded, both inside and around the base. I have the vacuum advance disconnected but the whole advance mechanism appears to be seized.

I was about to order a new disty, coil, and plug wires (plus a timing light) but I figured I might be missing something that would be obvious to someone more knowledgeable.

Is there anything else I should try first, or should I start throwing ignition parts at it?

Thanks in advance for any help!

·
Registered
742 Posts