460 Ford Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
263 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:D This is my first big block really my first drag car i am 18 I have a 460 30 over bracket master cam, keith black flat tops, stock heads with 1.7 roller rockers, edelbrock torquer intake and an 850 holley. dont have a converter or trans yet. i was wondering if any one can get me in the ball park of what horse its putting out, and how fast it would go in the 1/8 mile any suggestions would help thanks. Travis

·
Registered
263 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
yeah that would be good info, the car is gutted soon to have a 10 point cage and lexan windows all the way around, fiberglass hood, im guessing the car would be weighing in close to probably 2700 to 2800 pounds. since i am setting the car up for 1/8 mile im thinking about going to 4.11 gears. from the 3.73 street gears i had in there. whatever more you may need to know just ask. thanks for the fast reply's thanks Travis

·
Registered
1,450 Posts
wild guess.... somewhere between a 6.10 and a 6.30 that isn't based on anythings just an educated guess. Could be miles off. We have no way of estimating your engine HP YET... cam specs, heads valve size convertor used etc.... all these things make a huge difference.

I was just thinking if you match it all up right you should make 600 Hp pretty easily. Probably more.... 8)

·
Registered
1,718 Posts
Just for comparison purposes..........An '88 Ranger with 2 X 3 rails, 9.8 to 1 compression 514 with mildly ported alum CJ's, glide, 4.86 gears, 32" slicks.......at roughly your race weight (2700 lbs.) it goes 5.80's. I think that a little more gear (maybe 4.29's or 4.56's) should have you running consistent low 6's. With better heads, the fun factor goes up.

·
Registered
1,539 Posts