460 Ford Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1971 D1VE block for the build I'm gathering parts for.

I've noticed a few things about it that I'm not sure are issues or not and need some input.

#1 - Three of the lifter bores look to have been sleeved or something. I assume this was from a failure of some kind that caused damage? So that's concerning. Also, the bores on the re-sleeved bores have a much rougher feel than the untouched factory bores. I can feel little ridges with my fingers. I am new to engine building but I assume that that is not good. What are my options here?
Pictures below.

#2 - On all eight of the cylinder bore walls there are black stains. Some near the top, some near the bottom, some in the middle. What are these stains? And this is after the block had been honed.

#3 - There is quite a bit of rust inside the water passages. And I assume the oil passages too. Some rust would be expected due to the age of the block, but I was getting chunks the size of my thumbnail when I was poking around in there. I wouldn't think that a bunch of rust particles moving through the oil/water passages would be good. I would think that could screw up the oil/water pumps pretty easily. Not to mention making the coolant red-brown and potentially hurting the block's ability to cool down....?

Is block rust a large problem? Is this block weaker because of it?
I've seen some rust removal products but not sure I want to fill the block with those, not sure if that's an option or what.

I would prefer not to have to find another block, but if these issues are going to cause problems sooner and/or later, I'll find another block.

Thanks for any advice!

-Ian, TX

·
Super Moderator
5,001 Posts
I'm no expert and others will have an opinion but...

It may be the pictures or it may be that I'm color blind but that hone job looks terrible.