460 Ford Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey!
I've recently come upon a screamin' deal on a crate 460 with casting numbers D9TE-AB, ive never seen these casting numbers before, due to me being newer at dealing with ford engines in general, this is my first truck build. When i'd bought my 77 it came with a blown 351m, however, with how clean the body is, ill drop some pictures below. Knowing that the engine im lookin into buying is a 79+ im not sure how well thats going to go with my c6 automatic trans. Again, im new at this, so if i sound like an idiot, its probably because i am one, however i learn quickly and appreciate any advice i can get! I can upload numbers and pictures of motor. If anyone wants more info on anything ill do my best to get it.

Thanks for the knowledge,

Casey

·
Premium Member
34 Posts
Go over to FTE and check out the thread below. There are a couple of guys, including me, that are putting 460's in Dentside 4x4 trucks. Ford didn't put 460's in 4x4 trucks back then, so it requires some changes. Fortunately, your 351M has the same bellhousing as the 460, and there are engine swap parts available. And if you're not a member, you need to join, because you're gonna need the help. We'd be happy to have you.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Go over to FTE and check out the thread below. There are a couple of guys, including me, that are putting 460's in Dentside 4x4 trucks. Ford didn't put 460's in 4x4 trucks back then, so it requires some changes. Fortunately, your 351M has the same bellhousing as the 460, and there are engine swap parts available. And if you're not a member, you need to join, because you're gonna need the help. We'd be happy to have you.

Thanks for the help! Just made an account, I'll be seeing you around in the forums there, im gonna need the help for sure!

·
Premium Member
34 Posts