460 Ford Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,311 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking for pics of a Fox Body (79-93) with a Boss 429 installed in the factory engine compartment with factory frame rails. (not a hacked up race car engine compartment)

I am most curious how close the valve covers come to the master cylinder. (manual brakes of course....power brakes seem to be out of the question)

Now that the new Kasse Boss heads are coming out, I want to see if I can build my Turbo Coupe w/ a Boss 9 and clear the MC area.

D

·
0 Posts
I remember seeing a boss 9 in a fairmont about 15-20 years ago. Artical in a ford Magizine.

·
Premium Member
1,311 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I have a Mopar master cyl. with the left side fittings. I know I will have to lower the k-frame 1 1/2 inches from stock and hope the air cleaner will clear my stock Turbo Coupe hood.

Does anyone have any Boss 429 intake manifold measurements?

I need the distance from where the intake touches the front of the block and where the carb touches the intake. That will tell me if the air cleaner will clear.

D

·
0 Posts
Re: I think

cletus66 said:
I think that was a SOHC. I saw the car at Carlisle years ago.
No, I specificly remember a Boss 429 Fairmont in the late 80's or early 90's.

·
Registered
218 Posts
K-member

I can't help you with your issue, but I was wondering how you will be moving your k-member down 1 1/2"? Also you can use a 1983 Ranger master cylinder, it has the fittings on the left as well.

·
Registered
1,642 Posts
dfree383 and cletus66 i think you're both right i remember one with a Boss 429 and the other with a S.O.H.C 427.I think the guys were good friends that had the cars IIRC.Later Mark.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Re: K-member

3MTA3 said:
I can't help you with your issue, but I was wondering how you will be moving your k-member down 1 1/2"? Also you can use a 1983 Ranger master cylinder, it has the fittings on the left as well.